* Author Topic: Got a question: should I train for a half-marathon while trying to get pregnant?  (Read 2255 times)

0 Members

Offline Zaria1

• Un-Ranked
Hi there, I'm quite new to fertility friends but I did some fertility treatment as a single woman, which was unsuccessful. Now, however, surprise! I'm with a fantastic guy and we'd like to make a baby together.

We both like running, and we have the opportunity to do a charity half-marathon together, but would this harm my chances of conceiving? I'm 37 (nearly 38) and have otherwise 'normal' fertility, although my AMH is quite low. We both really really want to conceive, but I want to know the potential risks of lots of exercise. Would I be stupid to do it?

Any advice welcome,
Zaria, x

Offline ladybird73

• Gold Member
Hi there, hope you don't mind me gatecrashing, I'm just interested in responses too as I too has just started training for the Great North Run and am waiting for PGD. 

I think as you as you don't start anything new once you are pregnant then it's ok.  However, I always feel as if I should be careful in 2ww, saying that though, there must be loads of people who exercise whilst TTC, if this makes sense.

I'm sorry, I haven't really helped much have I?  Sorry.

V xx

Offline coweyes

• Gold Member
Zaria

This is a really difficult question, i think if you are used to doing that much running then your body is used to it but half a marathon is a long way.  Can you not enter for it and then if you find out your pg just opt out?  Then if your not just continue to do the run. 

If your concerned that training for it would harm your chances of conceiving i think a lot of that depends on how much training you do and if its too much for your body.  Also how you feel about it personally.  Why not check with your gp? xx

Offline Mish3434

• Owned By A Butterfly Eating Kitty
  • VIP Member Sponsor
  • Renesmee and Jake :o) x