* Author Topic: Recurrent MC aged 41 - to continue or try donor eggs?  (Read 970 times)

0 Members

Offline Ozmund

• Un-Ranked
Hello it's my first time on here and I have a lot of questions

I am 41 and have been ttc#1 since Dec 2014.  Mc#1 was blighted ovum (x3!) in June 2015 after spotting, Mc#2 at 8 weeks - foetal pole developed but no hb. No spotting or signs just 'felt wrong', mc#3 - heartbeat/viable at 6+3 then scan confirmed mc at 8+4 (post-intercourse bleeding). Taken around 6 months to conceive each time.

I've had blood tests at St Marys Manchester - which didn't show anything abnormal apart from Heterozygous for Prothrombin gene which I already knew about. Prior to mc#3 I had taken part in trial for heparin use and used from week 5 until confirmation of mc.

Going back to RMC next week and have a lot to discuss with consultant. They previously suggested going to Coventry for scratch and NK cell check but as pregnant a time we couldn't pursue, so we will definitely chase this up.  Also, we have asked for karyotyping on the mc to see if chromosome abnormalities.

Last time the consultant didn't discuss the results of my Day 3 tests so I really need to know what these are so I can see if it worth trying again naturally or whether donor egg is the only option. I know they tested LH, FSH and Estradiol but unsure if AMH was tested too so will request if not.  I was also going to ask for Day 21 Progesterone to see if any issue there.  Does anyone know if they will test sperm on NHS as part of RMC investigations?  Are there any other tests for fertility that we can get done on the NHS to get a full picture on fertility.

Has anyone got experience of Donor egg treatment in Manchester? I think Manchester Fertility and CARE offer it but no idea whether there is a waiting list.  I've also read that foreign clinics have a better success rate but ethically I think I would want any child to  be able to trace their biological parent if that was what they wanted.