Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

41 - two failed cycles - in need of advice!

2K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  miamiamo 
#1 ·
Hi there,

This is my first time posting on one of these forums - I'd just love some advice from you wise ladies.

I'm 41 and have just had a second round of failed IVF. The first was last September using 5 eggs I had frozen when I was 37 - sadly only one made it to fertilisation and didn't implant. I have just tried a fresh cycle with Dr Gorgy at the Fertility & Gynecology Academy. Alas I only have 5 follicles remaining - I produced 3 eggs, sadly 2 immature and one didn't fertilise. I feel so sad as I'd given this my all - been on DHEA and other supplements and an egg friendly diet for over 4 months, I really thought it would help. I have quite a stressful job and I'm sure that's a big factor - guess I just didn't manage to avoid the stress enough.

My partner already has two children and had a vasectomy reversal and has some issues with sperm morphology and density.

I just need to assess next steps. Do I need to be realistic and give up on the dream of having a baby with my own eggs at this stage? Or is it worth giving one last shot before considering donor eggs? Are there any clinics you would recommend?

All advice gratefully received.

B.

See less See more
#3 ·
Hi Happylife,

Thanks so much for your reply! Sorry, I'm based in London, I should have indicated. I believe Create Clinic here also offer mini ivf so I might reach out to them too - if anyone does have experience of treatment here do let me know!

Thanks so much,

Bethan.

#4 ·
Hi Bethan