* Author Topic: Carpe ovum (seize the egg) - sibling journey (ICSI cycle 2 w/ PGS = baby boy!)  (Read 16358 times)

0 Members

Offline Liz3511

A bit of background ...

DH and I started TTC when I was 24 (he was 28). In the first year, we had 3 consecutive miscarriages, with no reason found. Finally, our luck turned and we had our first live birth in 2008. Amazingly, two more live births followed in 2010 and 2012. All pregnancies were extremely high risk, and have included a mixture of premature birth, pre-eclampsia and IUGR.

We thought we were done - and we have no doubt how astoundingly blessed we are with the family we have.

However, DH had always wanted a 4th. I declined until I had a permanent job (I finished my PhD in 2012 and worked on short term research contracts for several years until getting a permanent role last year).

My chief concern in starting TTC was the risk of further miscarriages and high-risk pregnancies, and my body 'rejecting' pregnancies. I never imagined there might be something wrong with DH's sperm. However, after 5 months of trying and one early miscarriage, we had a SA to rule out any issues ... and received the news that the sample's motility and morphology was so poor that ICSI would be necessary. His count was 22 million/ml - not 'low' but not far off the threshold for low.

So we embarked on efforts to improve his results using lifestyle change and supplementation, and began to search for a clinic for our first ICSI cycle.

Story to be continued ...

FertilityFriends

• Advertisement

Offline Liz3511

I had an appointment with a local clinic and left it feeling as if I hadn't learned anything new (but paid 200 for the privilege). I looked at the likely cost of treatment at the clinic - about 6500 for ICSI, without the extras - and thought about the awkwardness of cycling there, a busy NHS clinic albeit as a private patient. Decided to think about options abroad.