Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Does anyone have any experience of adenomyosis? I've just been diagnosed with possibly having this & my consultant has suggested that I have a laparoscopy & hysteroscopy to confirm & possibly treat. All I've been able to find out from the internet is that the only real treatment is a hystorectomy - which is not an option for me!!! I'm wondering if I should get a second opinion & also how I can find the best person to do this operation. I have very little trust in the people at my current clinic (for various reasons) & I'm really not keen on going into having this operation without knowing more.

Any comments / help would be really appreciated!

thanks

Susie
x

·
Premium Member
16,348 Posts
Hi Susie

Im not a doctor, but my understanding that some people do get put on a course of Lupron, which causes the body to go into a menopausal state - and causes the abnormal tissue to reduce in size. This of course is all reversable.

A Course of Lupron, should not be more than 6 months.

The most reliable way of dealing with this is a hystorectomy, but it shouldnt be there first call!

Let us know what happens :)

Tony,

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Tony

Thanks for your comments. I've decided to go for a second opinion anyway & we're in the process of getting an appointment at Hammersmith. Looking at the website they seem to have a lot of experience of uterine problems.

I'll let you know how I get on :)

Susie

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Jac

Thanks for your reply - I really appreciate it. I'm sure you have loads to do now with little Jacson :)