Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Morning lovely Mummies!  ^wave^

I'm new to this bottle feeding lark and I have a question .....

I've been boiling the kettle and getting a few bottles ready so that I can just pop the formula powder in as and when it's required. I have a bog standard steam sterilizer and the booklet that came with it says that items will remain sterile for 6 hrs so does that mean that any bottles of boiled water not used within 6 hrs have to be thrown away, re-washed and re-sterilized? I thought I read somewhere on here that some of you get your bottles ready for a 24 hr period?  ???

What do you do?

Thank you & have a super-dooper sunny week end!  ^holiday^

B x :-*

·
Premium Member
9,128 Posts
B
It usally means that if you don't remove the bottles from the steriliser (and openit) they will remain sterile for up to 6 hours.

We always sterilised our bottle, filled them with cooled boiled water and stuck them in the fridge for up to 24 hours. Then we added the powder when we needed the feed. Our midwive said that what was what she did, even though the 'policy' and reccomenedation is that you sterise and make up a bottle immediately. Go with what your gut feeling is telling you :)

Deb

·
Premium Member
8,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you Deb ^afro^

One more thing though ;) do you have to keep the water in the fridge? I've been leaving them out so they are quicker to warm ... I'm worried I've done the wrong thing now, I just assumed that boiled water in sterilized bottles wouldn't have any nasties in so no bugs would grow ???

·
Premium Member
20,424 Posts