Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well where do I start? Me and DH (both 26) have been together for just over 9 years, we both met in Highschool and got together when we were 16 years old. I'm a police officer and DH is a swimming teacher and fitness instructor at our local leisure centre.

We got married in June 2009 and were really hoping for a honeymoon baby. I came off the depo injection in the March and my periods came back to normal pretty quickly. For 15 months we ttc... and failed. I cant describe the pain each month when AF would arrive!

Deep down I suspected that something might be wrong so in September 2010 I decided to go to the docs. I had blood tests and a scan on my ovaries and luckily everything came back normal so DH was sent for a sperm analysis test.

Most ladies on here will know what the test involves, getting the sperm into a tiny urine specimen bottle in the first place is a test in itself! but fair play, DH managed!

We had to get the sample to the hospital within the hour, which was quite stressful. We live a 25 min drive from the hospital, then we had to find a parking space then walk over from the car park into the hospital then find the lab which we needed to get to!

Anyway, a week later DH got his results which were not too good.
He had 2 million sperm per ml, and only 5% of those were normally formed and moving correctly. The doc said the average is 20 million per ml so obviously his were quite low in comparison.

When I heard, I felt like my world had ended. For days I felt like crying all the time, and as DH would never talk about it I felt so alone. None of our family knew we were Tc as we wanted it to be a surprise, now I regret not telling our family but feel like its too late now, and anyway I know DH doesn't want anyone knowing.