Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and was hoping to chat with someone who has been successful after their partner's cancer treatment.
My dh was diagnosed with testicular cancer in April this year and we have had 3 failed iui's through Pinehill and Harley Street. Was hoping someone else out there has been in a similar situation and has been successful.
;) :)

·
Registered
604 Posts
Hi Sicknote
Welcome, not been in a similiar situation but wanted to wish you all the best with your transfer tomorrow.
Chick

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Hi sicknote,

Sorry to hear about your partner's cancer and then the failed IUI's.

We have had 2 failed ICSI's and one failed FET. My DH is also a cancer survivor and due to a mistake by the hospital we do not have sperm from before his treatment.

We were lucky enough to obtain sperm through a testicular biopsy.

Are the IUI's from banked sperm?  Do you go through the 2ww and the embryos fail to implant.

After our failed ICSI attempts we discovered that it may be a problem with my immune system destroying the embryos and we are now investigating down that route.

Hope that you get some ansa's soon.

With warmest regards,

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
dh had one testicle removed but stem left in so the remaining one will hopefully, eventually start producing new sperm at sometime in the future. He left 16 vials in storage before his chemo started but we have used them for iui's and now only have 8 left. We are trying another iui tomorrow but are undecided whether to go on to ivf if it fails as it would mean another laparoscopy for me because of my pcos or whether to keep our fingers crossed that dh's sperm returns and do more iui's?

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Hi Sicknote,

Welcome to FF!

I hope everything goes well for you tomorrow.

Laine x

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Dear Sicknote,