Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya

I've been told by my NHS fertility nurse that my last blood result showed I have polycystic ovaries, due the oestradiol reading being 277 pmol/l on day 3 of my cycle. However, previous results had shown my hormone profile to be normal and also confirmed that I was ovulating. I had taken 6 cycles of clomid before this last blood test. Can pco appear just like that or might it always have been there? I am not overweight in proportion to my height, and not really hairy, although I have noticed a few hairs sprouting on my chin (uugghh get the wax out!)

I don't know what to believe anymore, first they say everything's normal and I'm unexplained, then they tell me I've got pco, could it be true?

Lisa
x

·
Premium Member
6,719 Posts
Hi Lisa

Sorry, I can't answer your question. I have no experience of this area. I have read somewhere that treatment can sometimes cause other "issues" to arise/surface?

Perhaps you could ask Jeanette and Mel what they think on the Ask The Nurse boards?

I hope you find out your answers soon.

Love
Dee
xxx

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks girls!

Carol, that was very useful information you gave to me and has made things a bit clearer. Whilst I was taking clomid, I was never asked to have one blood test!!! I was scanned on or around day 12 of my cycle, each month of clomid but the nurse only told me recently that she thought she had seen a few cysts on my ovaries when she scanned me last June! My last blood test on day 3 showed LH of 6.8 and FSH of 7.8, but oestradiol 277! This is what led her to tell me I have pco!