Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ladies,

I'm 34 yo and me and fiancée have been trying to conceive naturally for 2 years and had 2 m/c in the process.
We are going to start our IVF journey in 2 weeks time when i will be having my period and start injections etc..
Our issues a few. He has less than 1% normal sperm, low concentration and low motility. Even after quitting smoking and cutting drinking it wasn't good news, hence the ICSI or actually the doctor mention something else like PICSI but not entirely sure what it is. Me, on my side, have PCOS but very regular periods (30days) and a good ovary reserve, possibly way too many follicles. Last scan on CD2 i had 36 on one side and 29 the other. This was back in July 21.
I'm a noob in the IVF world and I'm discovering a finding out new things on daily basis and saying im terrified and excited at the same time it not enough!
looks like my fertility doctor (we are going private) is concerned with OHSS so she said we will start with a low dose when doing injections and i will have to have a scan every 2 days which is not ideal considering i live near Luton and the clinic is in London and i work from home. Also i wont have the usual trigger shot when it comes to it but instead something like Buserelin if I'm not wrong. Also she said absolutely not fresh transfer after egg retrieval, so she said to wait a month so my ovaries can rest and the FET. Now, i cannot seem to be able to work out when, if i get pregnant (very aware first round might not work at all), i could be giving birth. According to my calculation it could anywhere around end of july, but i don't know what they mean when they say a month rest for the ovaries. a month from when? egg retrieval or my period after egg retrieval? and usually when is transfer done? before next period, after, ovulation? no idea.