Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have previously developed severe Bells Palsy after flu Jab so my GP advised me never to take it again.

I am about to start a course of Humira (1 x 40mg twice 2 weeks apart)because of Immune issues- I am not in a high risk group for flu due to medical problems (previously taken on occ health advise as I work in healthcare) but I am now wandering if I would be at higher risk from Flu because of Humira and if there are any safe alternatives to flu jabs if you have had previous Bells Palsy.

I was sort of presuming that the Humira is aiming to get my immune system to normal levels as  it is high so I wouldn't be immune suppressed but then again should I go on to get pregnant I would then be classed as needing flu jab.

I know I probably need to balance the risk profile of bells palsy vs flu and bells palsy is not life threatening but it threatened my eyesight  due to complications when I had it and I was in so much pain that even high doses of DF118 didn't touch sides so I definietely don't want a repeat peformance during IVF cycle or pregnancy when I can't take strong pain killers.

Do you know what the current thinking is on bells palsy reaction to flu jab- I know that when this happened to me my GP yellow carded it and said she didn't think it was a known reaction but the thinking has changed since?

Happy new year by the way!

·
Premium Member
6,153 Posts
I have been mulling over your question and I don't think it is one I can give a clear answer to.

The Humira will reduce your immunity, increasing the risk from infection.

The Bells palsy risk should be discussed with a doctor who knows your history - from the literature there are a number of case reports associated time wise with the flu vaccine.
Your doctor should perhaps discuss your risks with a virologist in combination with a neurologist to make a full risk/benefit assessment.