Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
??? Hi there,
Have finally worked out how to communicate with you guys! It's very tricky (or am I just brain dead?) trying to work out how to post your first message, I almost gave up (the help facility is/was not working). I'm also an oldish newbie (just 38) Partner (is that DH?? no idea of the abbreviations you use!) is 40 & has primary testicular failure due to a prob with undescended testes. Big shock for him to find that out at this stage in life. I have low ovarian reserve. Been attending the local NHS clinic since March this year & just completed our first failed IVF cycle with donor sperm (negative result on Friday) Had 5 eggs, 2 fertilized & were put back, but didn't take for some reason. I'm appalled at the lack of support & aftercare (zero 'we'll with an appt in a few wks') is this usual? I feel I just want to know why it didn't work (even if they don't know) & whether we can try again. 3 questions for you: Are other over 35s getting any funding for IVF? Is care any better in the private sector? & if so can anyone recommend  a clinic in Yorkshire?

Yours hopefully,
JIH :-\

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hiya jih

I can confirm that you're braindead as it took me ages to figure out haw to use the site, but I can assure you that it's worth the effort.  I still have problems with some of the abbreviations and didnt have a clue what DH was either, still tyring to figure out where all the lovely picture are that some member use, but will get there.  I am sorry to hear your news about Friday, I am sure that you will get plenty of support from the members of this site.

·
Premium Member
14,889 Posts
Hi there Jih,
Welcome to FF.  Don't worry it takes a while to get used to all the facilities and the abbreviations.  (DH is dear husband, DP Dear Partner by the way).

I'm really sorry to hear about your negative result.  I know how it feels.  :'( ^Cuddle^