Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I'm new to this treatment - we are due to start our treatment sometime next week and I have been prescribed Gonal-F from day 3 and then Ovitrelle and Cyclogest.

Just a query - I have been prescribed 37.5iu Gonal-F daily - this seems like a really really low dose! Is this normal? I went to the clinic last week to be shown how to use the pens etc and the fertility nurse commented that it was only a very small dose but didn't seem suprised. My concern is that we are going to go through all this and the low dose won't make any difference. Has anyone else been prescribed such a low dose on their first attempt? and if it doesn't seem to make much difference what happens then? Will I have to wait for my next cycle or will they just up the dose??

Many thanks

Cooky

·
Premium Member
5,521 Posts
Hi Cooky

Sorry to be a pain hun but are you having IVF or IUI? If your having IVF I would say that 37.5iu was very low... But then for IUI I would say thats about right. Although I have never had IUI. It seems to be about right.

Natalie xxx

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Natalie

Thanks for the reply.

We're having IUI to start with as due to mild male factor probs. I'd read other posts and thought that 37.5iu seemed low but then, like you say, they might have been referring to IVF.

Not sure how I'm going to cope with these injections . . . . I guess after the 1st one it gets easier? I should be starting them within the next week so fingers crossed.

It's reassuring that you think 37.5iu might be in the right region for IUI - thankyou.

Keeping fingers crossed for you!

Cooky

·
Registered
12,048 Posts
I was on 600IU a day but that is the max dose for IVF are you doing IUI?
L x

·
Premium Member
5,521 Posts
Hi Cooky