Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,
i'm new to this thread, but i visited the male factor thread at easter time this year.
i was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on counselling please?
we were told that dh has azoospermia and we asked the clinic to refer us to someone for councelling, just to come to terms with the news and maybe talk to another person about how we felt.
we were given an appointment date in september, arrived at the clinic and the counselor started to discuss D I.
my dh and i were a very uncomfortable about this, we explained that we were under the impression that we would just discuss how we are coping as a couple etc... we were not there to discuss D I or adoption yet (perhaps, after some sessions, we could move towards this...)
we learned that we had been refered to D I counselling by our consultant at uchl, which in my opinion was too soon.
my question is this.
is this the procedure that everyone goes through?
was i wrong in expecting to gradually work through our thoughts before talking through D I.
i'm at a bit of a loss now, we still haven't recieved any counselling, and wondering if we need to see a private counsellor first, and when we've worked through whether D I is for us, then use the nhs facility for
D I counselling...( i hope this is making sense!)
thanks in advance for any feed back x

good luck to all on this thread x

lily rose x

·
Premium Member
1,866 Posts
Hi Lily and sorry to read abour DH - its comes as such a shock doesnt it?