Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having skulked around this site on a number of occasions I would like to introduce myself to you fellow sufferers on the fertility front.

Compared to many of you who I have been reading about, I am pretty new to this game.  I am 35 years old, my DH is 32 - together for 5 years, married for 1.  Started ttc one year ago.  In April found out my FSH levels are elevated (but not drastically).  A couple of weeks ago I had an ovarian stress test (so well named) and have been diagnosed with diminshed ovarian reserve :'(
I'm not sure exactly what this means for our chances yet (have follow up appointment with consultant tomorrow) but I know it ain't gonna be good. 

We live in London and are going to the Assisted Conception Unit at UCH.

At the moment I am very tearful and finding it hard to come to terms with the fact that we are likely to have very serious problems conceiving. I very badly want to have children but I think my DH wants it even more than I do.  He would be a wonderful father and I just can't bear the idea that he may be denied it because of me. 

So I guess that's why they call it an emotional rollercoaster (except that they forgot that rollercoasters are fun). Infertility is totally sh*t isn't it?  Somebody tell me it gets easier

But it has been great to find this site, and be reminded that I am not alone (sometimes I need reminding) Wishing you all every possible bit of luck with your quests to become mothers

Alvie
x

·
Registered
54 Posts
Hi Alvie

Welcome to Fertility Friends, you'll find some great people on this site.  I have found on here that we all understand what we are each going through, much more than our friends and family do.  If you ever have a question or just want to have a chat, the answer will always be here.