Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've never joined a forum before so I'm very new to this.

Starting treatment again later this month and I'm really nervous about it. You see, this is our 2nd time of going down the ICSI route - the 1st time began in Summer 2003 - I was lucky in a way because we ended up with 18 fertilized eggs and managed to have 3 lots of ET's (sorry if I'm using the wrong terminology) - I actually got pregnant with twins at the 3rd and final attempt. Bled at 6 weeks and lost one of my babies and at the 12 week scan found out the the other one didn't have a heartbeat (missed m/c they called it).  Completely heartbroken - my DH ended up with a near nervous breakdown due to the whole emotional strain IVF put on us.

Its taken us nearly 2 years to get the courage to start again but this time we know there is one major difference from the last time - the fact that I did get pregnant before means I can do it again however long it takes and I think you also learn a lot from experience in what works and what doesn't. Our nurse at the clinic is wonderful and really supportive and she's also taking the time to make sure my husband will be able to cope with things better this time round - I know very often the man gets ignored.

I've joined the forum really so I can get advice and support so it takes a bit of pressure of my DH in that the IVF/ICSI doesn't take over our lives again. Sorry for going on but its taken me weeks to gain the courage to post - silly I know.

·
Premium Member
4,394 Posts
Welcome MaryMary to FF!

I am so glad you have found the courage to post!

I am so sorry for your loss with you first icsi  ^Cuddle^

You have come to the right place for advice and support.

I suggest you pop over to the icsi board and also have a look at the Cycle buddies board, as you can join other ladies who are about to start treatment too and perhaps cycle with them :)