Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to site, along way through with treatment and just been given unexpected choices to make, could do with a bit of advice. EC this saturday 24th, I am lucky enough to have had a successful ICSI treatment 5 years ago so going for the next! We have just been given the choice of blastocysyt. Not really got much time to digest all the info and really stuck as to what to do. any advice ..........

·
Registered
5,595 Posts
Hi Daisyizzy  :)

Blastocyst has a higher success rate because they develop more before ET.  So in a way it weeds out the weaker ones and the better developing embryos are the ones to be put back in.  That's it in a nutshell anyway.  Not all will make it to blast though so they won't do this if you don't have enough eggs.  It's a bit of a gamble as none of them may make it to blast, however, some people may say that if they don't make it to blast stage then they wouldn't have developed in a pg anyway.  If you understand me!

We start DR (for IVF) on Friday  ^banana^ and have already decided to go for blasts (if possible) as it's success rates are roughly 50%.  It costs about £800 (which the NHS won't cover) but we feel it's worth a go.

I asked the NHS fertility nurse what the current thinking was regarding blasts and she said that 90% of the people she sees try blastocyst. 

Hope this has helped.  ???  Why don't you have a look at the Cycle buddy threads and hook up with some people at the same stage of tx as you.

Good luck  ^reiki^
Lully x

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Hiya Daisyizzy, welcome to FF and  ^goodluck^ for ur EC hope you get lots of eggs!!!! xxxxx

·
Registered
460 Posts
Hi daisyizzy  :) welcome to FF

Its great to hear you've already had success, wishing you all the best for this tx.

Good luck with EC on saturday  ^reiki^  ^reiki^

Laura xxx

·
Premium Member
20,592 Posts
^hello^
& Welcome to FF daisyizzy ^hugme^