Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all you over 40 year olds

I am 42, soon to be 43 in June and never disclose my age and have been known to tell the odd white lie and take off about 5-6 years. Nobody has challenged this unless they are just being nice, it just slips out!! Within this fertility arena you have to face the truth which I find incredibly difficult. My parner and I have been TTC for the past 4 years but due to asymptomatic endometriosis, surgery for an endometrioma this feels like an uphill battle made worse by doctors, nurses in the fertility field constantly referring to my age. I am not stupid and know that the success rate is lower but wish that references to my age would stop. I am also a midwife and Health Visitor and know of many over 40's becoming pregnant. In an ideal world wouldn't have left it so long.
I have recently completed my first cycle of Natural IVF and the result was a BFN, I was absolutely devastated but feel much better. The good thing was that my body responded very well, producing an egg, good embryo and good hormone levels. Just didn't implant. I can't wait to start again as I am desparate to have a baby an will hopefully be trying again this month if it doesn't coincide with me having to go on training for work.

For anyone who is feeling negative and despondent, read 'The Secret' recommended by my accupuncturist. It is brilliant and looks at the way we think  and changing these thoughts to more positive thoughts. It has definately worked for me, I am feeling much more positive, am visualising my life with my baby and truely believe it will happen for me. I really am quite normal and if I can change my thoughts anyone can.

Thanks for listening to me

Good luck to all me fellow over 40's

Jayne xx

·
Premium Member
6,838 Posts
Jayne.
Welcome to this board :) :)