Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Just wondering what people think about this. I've been told by my clinic to start eating extra protein and lots of it because apparently they say they've found that ladies on their IVF programme who eat extra protein generally have better quality eggs and therefore better chances with IVF.

I've been doing this for a couple of months now and reckon anything is worth a try but just wondering if anyone else has been told anything similar, followed this advice with any results etc.

Any views?!

love
Gabi

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Marilyn Glenville says that a high protein diet is vital for good eggs so that bears out what your clinic told you. I have bought some Solgar Whey Powder (easily absorbed pure protein) and have a scoop of that with one pint of milk daily. I did this last cycle and had very good quality eggs, I didn't do it the cycle before and had poor quality eggs so I am a convert.

All the best

Jenny

·
Registered
253 Posts
Hi Gabi

I have heard something similar namely that high protein diets are good for polycystic conditions. Worth a try definitely. Which clinic are you with? They sound forward thinking!

Good luck

Helena

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi ladies

Jenny, will definitely try the whey protein thing, but where do you get that from, is there some special type to buy? I've heard of people who work out a lot taking whey protein drinks and I'm just wondering if it's the same type of stuff or something different.

Helena, my DH and I are living in Singapore. We're from the UK but my husband is posted here. Geneally I've found the healthcare here to be excellent, they're very forward thinking in lots of ways.

Good luck to you both!

Gabi

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi Gabi