Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if I put this in the wrong place, newbie here.

We have spent about a year being jerked around by NHS, they said it was me [DH], now one private test now I am improved but DW has high FSH 12+.

I had looked around here already and saw a few ppl had dropped these levels via various therapies.

I said to the consultant, what would he recomend to reduce FSH, he said there was no point, one reading over 10 and it is time to find a DE.

He seemed emphatic about this, but agreed we could do a cycle after we tried some herbal remedies.

Is he wrong?

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Your consultant couldn't be more wrong and I have the proof in a cot upstairs!

March 2002 my FSH was 12.4

June 2002 it dropped to 8.4 - I took wheatgrass, Marilyn Glenville vitamins, Chinese Herbs and acupuncture and I became pregnant with our first IVF + ICSI!

Sadly our 2nd attempt at IVF in July 2004 failed and I have just had a failed FET.. :'(

Don't know if we will try once more for a much wanted 2nd child...

Go for it, change your consultant/clinic. I highly recommend the ARGC, there is a thread on this site for ARGC girlies, Mr Taranissi is absolutely the best!

Good luck

Jules

·
Premium Member
803 Posts
I too would disagree!

While I am just starting treatment I have a consultant who would like to run 2 months of tests testing my levels to see who my FSH level fluctuates & mine so far have been 81 & 53!!!!!
While I understand I might be in the menopause at 37 he still wants to check out all options before suggesting DE.
FSH levels can vary from 5 - 15 every month & you can get lucky. There is a website under network 54 try google FSH High levels & some of the ladies have had really high levels. I had accupuncture yesterday & sometimes a high FSH level can be hiding another issue like PCOS or Endo.
Best bet would be to find another consultant.  best of luck.

·
Registered