Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to this so I'm sorry if this posting in the wrong section (is it?).  I hope the following might be of help to some:

For the last year I have been having IVF treatment in Athens, only I ended up there in a very roundabout way. 

After becoming very disillusioned by the way sperm banks operate here in the UK (as regards the restrictions on the amount of donor information available and generally their 'one size fits all' approach), I decided to look into purchasing sperm from the USA and soon I had found exactly what I was looking for.  But then I stumbled over insurmountable difficulties in getting the units shipped over to the UK and (to cut a very long story short) in the end I had the units shipped to Athens without any problems whatsoever where I have since had my 2 IUI attempts and 1 IVF and am due to go back for more in February.

I can only describe my experience as very much like 'a most exciting activity (!) holiday' !!!  No long waiting lists, in fact, no waiting lists at all, the treatment was of the highest standard, the doctors and staff at the clinic all made me feel welcome and to top it all, it was arranged for me to be 'chaperoned' by a lady whose job was to be there with me at all times throughout my treatment to translate for me, get hold of all the drugs and generally take all the anxiety of the 'unknown in a strange country' completely out of the equation.  Not to mention the total cost which came to approximately half of what (private) treatment would have cost here in the UK!!

I can't speak for any other country, obviously, but I would recommend Athens without any reservations. Please feel free to email me if you would like to know more.  I'd be more that happy to share my experiences and point you in the right direction.

Good luck to all

Alice Helyar

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
hi!!! :)