Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,I'm a newbie. Can anyone tell be a bit more about natural cycle ivf? I came across it in a posting I read and would like to learn a lot more. I had an HSG and were told both tubes were blocked due to Chlamydia I had years ago (think I had it for 3 yrs b4 any symptoms showed) I am now due to have a Lap & Dye in Sept and am wondering if they cant unblock them how do they know whether to do natural ivf or other ivf? Is it totally my choice? I don't think I have any other probs so far so as long as my eggs are healthy enough could I just have a natural cycle and they take the egg and do IVF and then put it back? Would appreciate some experience on this! Thanx  :)

·
Registered
40 Posts
hi dewy

i dont know much about natural cycle ivf but i think its a bit rare and not all clinics offer it.  They usually like to get a lot of eggs during an ivf cycle as not all eggs are capable of being fertilised.  On a natural cycle u would probably only get one egg and hence the chance of a successfull pregnancy are significantly reduced. 

I think a natural cycle is possible best suited to someone who does not respond well to the stimulation drugs.

If they cant unblock your tubes then they will probably refer you straight to stimulated ivf.  In fact they may do this anyway as tubal surgery has a relatively poor success rate and can just result in you loosing precious time or having a greater chance of an ectopic pg and having to go to ivf later anyway. 

Please dont be alarmed by this and stay positive the chances of a success on ivf after a few attempts is good and you only have to read the stories on this website to realise that a lot of people overcome difficult circumstances and go on to have healthy babies.

As i mentioned in the chat room there are some good books around.

I recommend Zita West - fertility and conception  and