Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
574 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have started to do rice cereal in the evenings once a day.  Do I do this for a few weeks and then start it at lunchtime as well?

How long do I continue with the cereal before starting pureed veg and then do I still do cereal twice a day and veg as well?  Also, do I introduce one new veg a week?  After how long on veg do I start fruit?

Also, baby hates formula and I would like her to have a bottle a day so that she can start having a bit less boob.  I have tried mixing it with the breastmilk but she is still not so keen.  She won't eat cereal unless it is mixed with breastmilk.  How am I ever going to get her off the boob???

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
2,114 Posts
Hi bubblegum

I noticed that you hadn't had any replies so thought I'd give it a go although I'm still fairly new to weaning myself!

I fed baby rice for about a week (also evenings) and then moved on to introducing veggies. I started with the root veggies - carrot, butternut squash, sweet potato, then added broccoli, cauli etc and then tried pear, apple, banana , dried apricot etc. To introduce them, I usually combined them with baby rice. Ellis was 23wks and my theory was that with the rice being easily digested, it might help make the veggies more digestible. Don't know if that's right but it made sense to me!

I was very careful to introduce veggies before fruit as I wanted to avoid having a baby that only liked fruits! Unfortunately that theory didn't work! As soon as E tasted Apple, he was sold on sweet stuff! Now I just throw caution to the wind and have become much more relaxed about what E eats. He very easily took to toast fingers for brekkie and he lurves fromage frais!

I think the recommendation is to introduce only 1 new food within a 24hr period so that if there is a reaction, you can easily try and pinpoint what it might be.