Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new to all this and still not sure if this is the way forward for us.
I have 4 yr old twins and are now thinking of more children, I am nearly 40 with a low ovarian reserve to DEIVF abroad is the more appropriate course for us if we do go ahead.
Having done 6 ivf cycle here in the uk I cant imagine being able to coordinate one abroad . The added pressure is we would prefer not to tell family what we are doing and have the twins who are at school to consider!!

Is this going to be at all possible??

Can you share you experiences please either with or without the complication of other children.

Thanks

Ellie

·
Registered
619 Posts
hello

I have not undergone DEIVF abroad, but I am seriously contemplating it.  If you are scared to go it alone, you can always go for shared care with a UK clinic who work in partnership with a foreign clinic.  The UK folks will scan you, do the blood tests and liaise with the foreign clinic, obviously for an additional fee.  All you have to do is book flights and accommodation. From what i understand, the majority of shared care arrangements are with the Spanish clinics.

Most clinics have international liaison staff who speak good English.  I know some Spanish clinics actually have English nurses.  I am sure someone will be along soon to advise you, someone who has actually had treatment abroad already.  One clinic has a travel service for British patients, but they do charge quite a bit for picking you up at the airport, taking you to appointments.  They can also book your flights and accommodation. This may appeal due to the fact you would be travelling with children.  It could be less stressful.