Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am a newbie.

I first logged onto this site over a year ago and have been watching from afar.  Today I have decided it's the right time to become a member.
After 4 long yrs of trying to conceive we eventually done something productive and went to our GP who referred us to our fertility clinic.  It transpired that my DH has low motility which was a blow especially to him.  In Nov 07 we started our icsi treatment, everything went really well and to our amazement we got a positive result (which we did not expect)  Hearing the heartbeat at 7 weeks was amazing and so was seeing the scan at 13 wks.  At 18 wks we got a call from the midwife telling us to comes in ASAP as my bloods weren't right!  We went for an emergency anomaly scan and we told our baby had severe spina bifida and damage to be brain 19 Mar 08.  We had to make the most difficult decision in our lifes and terminated our much much wanted pregnancy.  I gave birth to my son on the 22 Mar 08.  I never ever thought I would be in this situation my heart breaks every day thinking about it.  I so much want to get back on the self funding waiting list but I can't until our consultant appointment which we will get the results of our post mortem is another 4 wks away.  I am so sorry to join this board with such a negative story.  I have joined another board for support on the decision I made but No one there appears to have been through treatment to conceive.  If you have got to the end of my introduction thanks v. much for listening. :'(

Ed xx

·
Premium Member
14,698 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Ed I'm so sorry to read about your loss  ^hugme^
I'm just starting out on my first IVF cycle after ttc naturally and know how desperately you and your DH will have dreamt and hoped for your son.