Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - I'm new to this section, so hope you don't mind me posting a new subject. I hoped you might have some advice. Nearly all our friends have children by now and as time goes by with one BFN after another it looks realistically as though we will remain a childless couple. Understandably, friends with children want to chat about child-oriented subjects - schools, kids shoes, you know the stuff and want to spend weekends doing children oriented things - trips to whatever. What I'm trying to say I s'pose is how and where can DP and I get to meet and make new friends who have interests other than children, so we can do adult things (whoops! and I don't mean that sort of thing!) and talk about subjects other than feeding routines etc.
Oh dear I hope this doesn't sound bitter and mean, that's not at all how it is meant to be. I do enjoy seeing my old friends and their kids, but inevitably we seem to have less in common these days as priorities have changed...
Kendra

·
Premium Member
4,046 Posts
hi Kendra :)
I know exactly where you are coming from on this one. even if we do get out with our friends that have kids the conversation always inevitably turns to their little ones (and even worse if you have 2 or more couples with kids - they egg eachother on with 'my kid does this and what does yours eat' etc etc) evenings are generally cut short to as people have to get home for babysitters. its not their fault - like you say, you have less in common than before and their lives have taken a different path...its natural to want to do different stuff