Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to FF and found this website whilst trying to understand the drug Metformin.  ^idiot^

After suffering from irregular periods my whole life (~3/4 per year!) I went to the Dr ~5 years ago and was diagnosed with 'probable' PCOS (high LH - 16 and high Testosterone levels) - I am however what the Dr described as a 'non-typical' PCOS sufferer..... he said that I am slim and do not have excess hair etc.

I have been using Dianette as a form of contraception for 4 years and came off it in Jan to try and concieve. In March I decided to see the Dr again for some help with kick-starting my ovulation/ periods and he ran more blood tests to get a more up-to-date idea of what was going on with my body......
He, again, said that I had PCOS and put me on metformin (1 week: 1st x 500mg/day, 2nd week: 2 x 500 mg/day, 3rd week onwards: 3 x 500 mg/day).

I started the treatment on 19th April and have not yet had a period so am a bit confused as to whether the treatment is actually working or not.......... it definately made me feel bloated (grumbly tummy!) feel sick/ loose my appetite in the first few weeks and (I am normally quite reasonable and a happy-go-lucky person) but it has also made me quite 'on edge' and grumpy for no reason at all!! 

I am hoping that the medication will kick start my ovulation and periods and am waiting with baited breath for my first........ I never thought I would look forward to a period before (not had one since my last 'pretend period' whilst on Dianette (Jan).

Does anyone have any experience or advice that they can share with me Re: Metformin?? How long did it take you to have your first period etc??