Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to this whole thing so this is my "intro" post.   So, a little bit about me... as I would really like to find someone in a similar situation.

I'm 31 and now want a baby (as we all do!) but am in the slightly unusual position (I think) of having known that I would have trouble conceiving since I was a teenager.  I was always very small and underdeveloped (about 5 foot and 6 stone when I was 17/18 even though I ate like a horse) and never had a period.  I started on the pill when I was 17/18 having had some investigations which suggested I wasn't making the right hormones but for no reason which could be discovered.  Within a year or two of starting the pill, I had grown 6 inches and put on 3 stone and everything appeared to be working normally - except if I came off the pill (which I did at various times at the advice of various doctors) I still had primary amenorrhea i.e. I didn't start a period. And I still have never had a period other than a withdrawal bleed from the pill.

Anyway, I told my doctor last year that my partner and I would like to conceive and he referred me straight to the gynaecologist at the hospital.  He repeated tests that I had done previously and said that I have "hypogonadotrophic hypogonadism" which, I understand as meaning, I don't produce any of certain hormones and they can't find any underlying cause.  He referred me to the Agora clinic in Hove where I have just started on menopur injections with cycle tracking.  Having done 13 injections of 75ml, my response is supposedly minimal (I only have two very small follicles developing at the moment) so I am about to double the dose.

Anyway, so that's it really.  I would really like to hear from anyone with any similar experience or treatment etc.  Best wishes and luck to everyone,

Julie

·
Premium Member
20,592 Posts