Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am new to FF. I'm 34, 35 in March, and dh is 35.

After TTC for a year we both had the basic tests at the docs and husbands sperm has come back as ok count, but poor motility (5%) which has completely floored me as we had no probs conceiving ds (now 3).

After reading everything I can find, it sounds like ICSI is our best option. Went back to the docs for a referal to go private (not entitled to NHS funding due ds). Saw a nurse who said she couldn't do referals and would speak to the GP and call us back. She eventually phoned and said that we just had to find a clinic we liked and refer ourselves.

I feel so out of my depth and have so many questions. Once I find a clinic will they do all the same tests again, just to make sure what the doc said is right, or do they just take our word for what the doc said? I'm confused. Also how long does it take for the whole thing to start once we have our first appt - is it weeks or months? I see the treatment seems to be around £5000-6000 a cycle - is that the same every attempt or does it get cheaper (because they've already taken some eggs out)?

I am driving myself stir crazy and not sleeping. This morning finally lost it with dh because he never talks about things.

We have an appt on 5th Jan with the doc who looked at dh's results, so maybe I will get some clarity then? Dr did say for hubby to take vitamins for 3 months, so next dilemma is whether to give them the 3 months to work or just get on with the IVF appointments? ??? ?

I'm so sorry for rambling, but I don't want to talk to any of my friends about this yet.

Thanks for reading, if you got this far.

Fx

·
Registered
29 Posts
Hello Aquapinkdog,

I'm not quite in the same boat as I've got no children yet, but I'm also 34 and this is my first attempt of IVF.