Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am new to FF, we found out on Jan 7th that we hadn't managed to get pregnant because of my hubby's sperm, our GP told us that there were no options available to us, not even ICSI, he did however refer us to the fertility expert at our local hospital.

We saw the expert on Friday and he confirmed that hubby had 3 fold male factor infertility, count, motility & morphology, but when we asked what our options were he hasn't ruled out it happening naturally, or ICSI (although when quizzed on this we were told we were borderline), hubby needs to do a blood test to check his hormone levels and I have to have the usual blood tests and x-ray.  We are now very confused about the option of ICSI and really scared about getting our hopes up as our GP had ruled this out altogether, has anyone else had a similar experience?

·
Premium Member
14,889 Posts
Hi tulip,

Welcome to FF, I hope we can help you through all the questions, usually someone can. 
I've not had your situation, but if you have a look on the ICSI board you'll find a thread called male factor - there are loads of people there who I am sure can help you out with advice. 

To be honest I wouldn't expect your GP to necessarily be able to tell you what your options were, and at least they referred you to a fertility centre, which is a good start. So don't worry what they said, they are not experts  in ICSI.