Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear Work Issues Experts!

I am a newbie here so first of all a big THANKS for access to this part of the site.

I am feeling a bit cofused and scared as to how to handle work at the moment. I feel I need to explain my position (although you've probably heard all this a million times before) but PLEASE bear with me!!

I have worked for my employer for 9 years. I work in a busy sales and customer service dept. I started as a co ordinator and spent the first 6 to 7 years working my butt off doing voluntary overtime and taking on responsibility beyond my job description (especially whilst the boss was on maternity leave) to prove myself with the aim of promotion in mind.

Just as the dept and business started to grow and we became part of a large international group, I discovered my infertility!!!

Deciding not to try and be a heroine and that honesty is the best policy I told my boss and my director (both female) about my impending IVF and that it was my decision NOT to now apply for promotion and indeed I felt I wanted to drop some of the extra duties I was doing and stay on a level with my colleagues. This was one way in which I could de stress my life in preparation for what was ahead.

Other people have been promoted above me and that is fine - I have helped where I can but the ultimate responsibility is not with me!!!

As was agreed, I have taken my IVF time from my holiday allowance so far and when I miscarried I got a weeks sick note from the hospital. All hunky dory so far. BUT the company are now trying to standardise their sickness policy etc and in addition to this are trying to desparately encourage overtime working as we are SOOO busy!!!