Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello ladies,

I am new to this wonderful forum - and I must repeat my congrats to everyone for the ways in which it is managed and its members respond with lots of useful information and lots to laugh at too ;D Which helps when times are hard !

A little about myself: DP (44 years of age) and I (just turned 36) were trying to conceive at the end of last year when he was diagnosed with prostate cancer (hence the explanation for the lack of sperm). A tragic discovery but after the first few months of panic/crying/psychotherapy, we have decided to go forward with ICSI. It has been a tough decision but we are hopeful: I think one can only fight death with life - it may sound philosophical, romantic, but I am optimistic and all of the above too!
He had a TESE done at UCH last February before starting his hormonal cancer treatment, and we now have 10 sperm samples frozen at ACU of UCH. Because of his cancer diagnosis and bad prognosis, we were referred to have a free NHS IVF at Homerton Hospital where we were told we'd have to wait for a 2 or at best 1-year waiting list. Hence, our decision to come to ACU and try with them first, especially since I heard that the first IVF cycle is usually a dry-run (and we do have some money saved but not for several cycles!). The good news is that by doing it privately at ACU we do not lose our place on the Homerton NHS waiting list, and having been at Homerton this morning and told them about our decision to go ahead with ACU, they have been very supportive and agreed this is the best strategy forward. This was a nice surprise.