Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there,

Would someone please be able to advise? Would IUI treatment be offered when the partners' sperm has high abnormal morphology, or would the treatment be straight IVF (with ICSI or without) ? I'm trying to determine the odds ,time & expense of IUI, or should we head straight for IVF. ??? ???

Another query is, why would doctors suggest taking Clomid when Hormone levels are normal in a woman? ???

Thanks very much  :-*

xx

·
Premium Member
3,470 Posts
Hiya Babywish,

I am not a doctor/nurse but wanted to try to answer your questions from my experience.Most clinics give women clomid,think its just a general thing they do to help prepare your body even if you ovulate normally.I was prescribed 50 mg for 3 months,it did me no harm apart from a few side effects,so it's worth a try.If your unsure done hestitate to speak to your consultant.

Cinics differ in their approach,depending on circumstances private clinics tend to start on IVF but NHS start with IUI then work there way up through different treatments.We were reccomended to have IUI and my hubby had poor morphology and motility,but they pick the best sperm for IUI then introduce it as clost to your follicles as possible and sometimes it does the trick.Best of luck.

Come and join us on the clomid or IUI threads,we are all mad but lovely  :-*

Kelly x

·
Premium Member
17,093 Posts
Hi

I can't really help regards IUI v IVF/ICSI as IUI isn't an option for us (I've damaged sluggish tubes so not worth time/money etc) so if we have to go for assisted conception then it's straight onto IVF.