Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this chat room business, I'm hoping someone out there might have some experiences to enlighten my current fertility confusion. I started on Clomid 6 months ago, obviously no success there. Last cycle I was also given an injection (HCG I think), hoping that this extra boost of progesterone would help address my short luteal phase problem. But no, after about 7 days after ovulation I got my period. If its not down to low progesterone, does anyone know what else might cause a short luteal phase, or more importantly, what to do about it? I also have PCOS (yawn yawn). If one more friend tells me she's pregnant this year I may scream!! (In private of course).
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
18,308 Posts
Hello Lisa-cat, welcome to Fertility Friends. :)

I am sorry clomid just hasn't doen the trick for you, even with the HCG jab. Have you been offered progesterone support during the second half of your cycle to, perhaps, support your luteal phase? I would guess this may help, although obviously I am not medically trained so can't say for sure. As far as I know, low progesterone is one of the main reasons for early bleeding post ovulation so it may help. We reccently had an interetsing discussion here in the Intros board with another new member with similar issues. You can have a look at that thread here: http://www.fertilityfriends.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=134947.0

Some ladies have had some success sorting out hormonal issues with complimentary therpaies such as acupuncture or herbal remedies. You might want to check out our Complimentary Therapies area and see what's what and if you feel any of that might be advantageous for you.

I completely understand that silent scream when everyone around you gets pregnant and you can't. ^hugme^ It is so frustrating.