Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I've been posting on the ivf forum for a while, but this is my first time here. DH and I had an unsuccessful round of ivf last year, and are due to try again in March. We've been ttc for 2 years, but had actively considered adoption before we went down the ivf route. At the time, dh still wasn't too sure about it, so we thought we'd give ivf a go. IVF has been so traumatic, we're not sure we can go through it again if this round doesn't work. It's been extremely hard, but we're now ready to accept that we'll probably never have a child that looks like us. However, we're not ready to give up on the idea of never being a Mum and Dad.

Problem is, we know nothing about adoption. We have a friend who was adopted in the 1960s, and I've worked with looked after children in my job, but that's it. Ethically, it all seems very strange to us, the idea of picking and choosing what 'sort of' child you'd be prepared to acccept, and we have no idea what might be reasonable.

I'm 36, and dh is 45. We'd love to have more than one child, (incl siblings), and we'd both really prefer a little girl, and preferably younger than about 6 or so. I'm so ashamed to say this, but I really don't think we could cope with a child with disabilities  :-[

I'm sure LAs vary significantly, but does anybody know whether these are broadly reasonable requests? Also, do any of you know how likely we are to be considered for a child out of our own ethnicity? (we're both white)

Sorry if this is garbled. We'd appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
1,692 Posts
HI

Just a quick post I'm afraid, rushing to get ready for school & work.