Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear Ruth,

I was just wondering if you knew if there is any link between abortion and m/c ?
tried to look on the net, but not coming up with much.
Jo x

·
Registered
2,229 Posts
Am not aware of any.
Only thing I can remember seeing in past is an alluded link if only to make the person feel guilty for having an abortion in the first place, probably put around by staunch anti abortionists.

Ruth

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for replying Ruth  :)

It's just that I did have one a few years ago. recently had a m/c and ectopic (twins)  and am now beating myself up about it all, thinking maybe it is because of what I did etc...  I can't see any links either, or that term, is a cause of future failed pg's.

Just worried,  thinking of TTC again, all a bit daunting!

Thank U.  Jo xx

·
Registered
930 Posts
Hi Jo
I am no medical expert so can't add to Ruth's post really other than to say I have always heard there is no link.

I mainly wanted to say that you remain in my thoughts.
Good luck if you do decide to go ahead with TTC again.
All the best
DC

·
Registered
683 Posts
Hi Jo,

I know how you're feeling hun, i had an abortion just over 6years ago.  And now i feel it's my fault that we are having so much trouble ttc, we've had lots of treatment and only got a bfp once but m/c  :'( .
I've been told it has nothing to do with the past but i can't help thinking i'm being punished for it.
Sorry this doesn't help does it.
If you need to talk just IM me.
Love
kia.x

·
Registered
896 Posts
Hi Jo,

There was something in the national press this week (was it Monday?) on a study that had found a link between abortions and giving birth prematurely - something about having a D&C that could weaken the cervix. No link to IF tho.

Joy

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for all the replies  :)