Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
DH has just received results of sperm test noting marked agglutination. Motility's also low at 25%; count per ml at 13 and total 34 million (previously 40%; 17 per ml and total 108 million).

We are presuming agglutination is due to antibodies, but have not been tested for these. Is this the most likely reason or has anyone had agglutination of sperm without antibodies? ???

I'm really sad and could do with some optimistic comments! I had 100mg of clomid for the 2nd time this month (it worked last month) but no reaction this time. It feels like we are battling with an impossible force that I'm so scared we won't overcome. :-[

Please HELP!
Thanks. Awaiting patiently for now, before I start losing my marbles!
Love to everyone.

·
Premium Member
279 Posts
Hiya!

I am not an expert but just looked agglutination up in the Marilyn Glenville book and it suggests that it can be caused by infection or antibodies. It also suggests that it can be worse where there is a lack of Vit C (common in smokers - I will be telling my DH off again later)!

The book also goes on to say that in research as little as 500 mg of Vit C taken daily has been shown to reduce agglutination and increase fertility. She recommends taking 1000mg daily.

Not sure if this info will be of any help to you but I hope so. It might be worth a try anyway.

Good luck

Allie

·
Premium Member
744 Posts
Hi

It does sound like it could be antibodies. My DH has sperm antibodies (not sure why - v strange!) and has a high % of agglutination.
There are 2 MAR tests that they do for antibodies - an IgG and IgA test.The clinic should have done an antibody test though i would have thought.
Try not to get yourself too upset until you have spoken to your doctor. Of course you can overcome anything if you stay positive.