Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there anyone with any advice please on the following situation:-

I am a staff nurse who was working on a ward where the patients are 80% self caring and perhaps are only in hospital for a short time or overnight observation.  I aksed if I could work long days ( 2 in total) to help me work around my IVf cycle next month.  I have to travel for the treatment.

I got told no.  The next thing I know is that I am being asked to move to another ward for 3 months!  This other ward being very heavy as 80% of patients are elderley ladies, bed bound, incontinent and confused!  Plus on this ward i would have to take charge most days where I don't do that on the ward I am supposed to be on. I did inform them that I will be doing IVF when I asked for the long days so I cannot understand for the life of me why they have put on such a heavy ward where there is a lot of lifting and stress of running the ward!

To top it off the letter I had to confirm the move didn't say 3 months on it and so I asked for another.  It came today but says it will be reviewed after 3 months.  Surely this means they can keep me there!  I have worked on this ward before I know I will not want to stay there even though they keep telling me its good experience.  I feel I am being fobbed off!  I go on holiday in five weeks time and start d/r on holiday.

I am off sick at the moment and don't know whether I should voice my concerns to head office as it were or just stay off sick for 3 months or even leave the NHS altogether.  I feel the more I kick up a fuss the more it will go against me.  HELP  :'(

NNxx

·
Registered
300 Posts