Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all

hope you are all very well.

well i'm a newbie on this side of the singlies board and a little too cautious to post on the waiting for the first scan or bumps thread just yet...  i've had a bit of a journey getting here (as we all have) and am still in disbelief.  i wrote a post yesterday on the 'calling all single women' thread which tells my story of the past year.

anyway, as of today i am 9 and a half weeks pregnant and i just wanted to ask your thoughts on the swine flu jab please.  i had it along with the seasonal flu jab in november '09 before i was about to do a cycle, but have had nothing since.  in the past week i have asked my gp, my clinic and nhs direct about whether i should have it again or not and whether there is any danger in early pregnancy.  i got very vague advice which just confused me even more.  but i have just spent the past hour on the phone to nhs direct again and their advice is definitely to have the jab if you are pregnant, whatever stage of pregnancy you're in and even if you had it a year ago.

what are your thoughts?  have you had it?  and at what stage?  i just called my surgery and have an appointment to have the jab tomorrow - it seems the dangers of contracting the virus in pregnancy are worse than the jab - which they are saying poses no risk (from what they know).

thank you in advance for your thoughts and i hope to be joining you on a proper thread soon!

^hugme^ ^hugme^ ^hugme^  bpxx

·
Registered
7,355 Posts
Hi bp,

I had it - think I was about 14-15 wks at the time. My GP and midwife strongly recommended it and I checked with Dr Gorgy (immune consultant) and he also seemed to think it was a good idea. Number of flu cases seems to be on the rise and although it's hard to know how much is media over-exageration vs real risk, I personally feel I did the right thing