Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone

We have just taken the first steps towards adoption
and are feeling excited and positive about the future :)

We have written to several Local Authorities in our area (Gloucestershire) and hope to attend a couple of adoption evenings soon and find an agency most suitable for us :)

I know through our adoption journey we will be faced with many different hurdles which we will need to overcome but, hopefully we will get through them together.

I have read about adoption and know there arent many babies who need adopting anymore but any advice you could give us would be wonderful.

Ideally, we would love to adopt a baby, toddler and maybe a young child. I am 30 and Darryl is 31. I work as a childminder and provide cover at a local nursery. We are close to our families and have a lovely group of friends who are all supportive.

I would love some adoption Buddies

Any advice would be welcomed

Has anyone joind Adoption-UK or BAAF ??

love

Lily x

·
Registered
1,708 Posts
Hi Lily

I am on the journey too. You can follow my progress on the starting the journey part 2 thread.

I had my first social worker visit in February, we had all our references and security checks back in march and we start our course next week. It is a long process but no doubt it will be rewarding in the end.

My local authority (wolverhampton) have said otherwise about babies, apparently they have quite alot (it sounds awful, but at least I can think of one of them being a very happy baby with me and Rich). Rich and I are going for 2 together (instant family) for 2 reasons really. We have always wanted 2 children and there is no telling what the adoption situation would be in a couple of years time, but equally we wanted the children to have a bond so we are going for a sibling group, with both children under the age of 3 :eek:.