Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I am quite new to this pg thing, and find i am worried about everything i eat/drink.
Can anyone give me a general list of things to be avoided.....
HELP!!!!
Thanks Sally    :) ^idiot^ ::)

·
Registered
144 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,807 Posts
Hi Sally

Congratulations on your BFP!

The general things to avoid are soft and blue veined cheeses (Brie, Gorgonzola etc) , pates (may contain listeria), softly boiled/raw eggs (and anything that may contain eggs such as mayonnaise that hasn't been pasturised - to avoid salmonella).  Also avoid liver and anything containing high levels of vitamin A.  Shellfish (to avoid general food poisoning)  If you or DH has suffered from allergies, in particular, asthma, hay fever or exzema (spelling?) then you are recommended to avoid peanuts (it's probably best to avoid them anyway).  Also the obvious things such as alcohol and smoking.  So.... that's all the nice stuff then!!   ;D  

Good luck

Love

Claire
x

·
Registered
256 Posts
Hi Sally

Ok this is what I know.....

No Pate - mainly because of high level of Vit A - although pasteurised/tinned pate is OK as long as it is not liver pate.

No part cooked, soft eggs or home made ice cream/mayonnaise or anything with raw eggs because of salmonella. Although shop bought ice cream and mayo are OK.

No soft/blue cheese such as stilton, brie, camenbert. Although brie and camenbert are OK if cooked and hot. Cheese spread and Philly are OK. Because of ?listeriosis? . Also no bagged salad for same reason.

No cured/ raw meats such as parma ham or salami.

No raw or cold shell fish although hot and cooked are OK.

Make sure are ready meals are properly cooked and hot throughout.

Avoid soil, cat poop as it can contain toxicaria thingy.

These were all from a leaflet I got from NCT.

I have also heard avoid peanuts if there is a history of allergy in the family.

HTH
xxxx

·