Fertility Friends Support Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,373 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, it's Bluebell again with more questions.  Egg donation is new to me, but hopefully soon I'll be able to give advice too, as you are all so helpful !

Anyway, clinics in the UK seem to give success rates for egg donation IVF / ICSI at around 20-30 % ish, whereas the European ones give 55% or more. 

Has anyone looked into why ?  It is so tempting to believe these stats without querying them, because it sounds so fantastic, but I'm worried there's a catch.  Has anyone looked into this ?  Are the clinics just better ? 

A very nervous Bluebell

·
Banned
2,001 Posts
Hi Bluebell,

I am not an expert either but there may be several reasons why DE success rates are higher in some European clinics.

Firstly it is difficult to know whether the 55-60% vs 20-30% rate is live births or pregnancies i.e. are we comparing like with like?
Some of the Euro clinics report pregnancies rather than live births so this can seem v. high.

Also,  many UK clinics are egg sharing, so success rates will be lower mainly because their egg share patients may also be part of the infertile population (that's why they are doing ivf in the first place).  This means DE eggs are coming from less fertile, older patients.  Even if you do get a donor who gives you all her eggs for one cycle, payment for egg donors is minimal in this country so you tend to get older, more altruistic donors. 

Compare this with the Euro clinics who are using young (early 20s) fertile women and you are getting all the embryos made in that cycle.  These women are paid more than in the UK for their time and trouble and they are also guaranteed anonymity.