Fertility Friends Support Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ladies,
Have posted on the midwife thread but thought I would post here aswell.  I'm 36 weeks pregnant and still have 2 weeks at work left.  I am a primary school teacher (teaching 5 + 6 year olds) and really struggling!  My boss just keeps increasing my workload so I am basically working for at least 10 hours a day.  My feet and ankles are so swollen by the end of the day and I am worried about the effect all of this pressure is having on my baby.  What can I do?  Are my employers supposed to take the fact I'm pregnant into consideration and try to help with the workload or is this it for the next 2 weeks?  Emilycaitlin suggested being signed off sick till I am due to start my maternity leave but I thought that past 36 weeks they would make you take maternity leave?  I'm so confused and tearful right now that somebody could care so little.
Any advice welcome,
JB. xxx

·
Registered
92 Posts
Hi, sorry to hear your boss is being so unreasonable. I was teaching when I was pregnant and my workload was decreased as I  approached my maternity leave.

You and baby need to come first you have a lot ahead of you so you need your strength and a good state of mind. I think they only sign you off on maternity if you take sick that is pregnancy related. If I was you I would anticipate a 'bad cold' arriving soon which will eat considerably into your 2 remaining weeks.

Good luck.
Victorioussunrise

·
Registered
1,974 Posts
Hello Jellybaby

What a horrible way to be treated by your boss  ^hugme^

I second what victorious sunrise says.  I just found this quote on the mothers bliss website - Your employer can only 'trigger' your maternity leave if you are off sick for a pregnancy-related reason in the four weeks before your baby is due.